Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Two are two!

Yay look at me I'm posting twice in a year!

Lots has changed. We bought our first house, the boys now have a yard and no stairs! They are talking (kinda) but they clearly understand almost everything I say and respond a lot of time with either the appropriate physical or verbal response. We now have tiny potties in the hall bathroom for them to practice sitting on (not expecting anything to happen yet but it is a step in the right direction).

Having their birthdays at the end of November sucks! not only is it all packed in with holiday madness so a lot of people are out of town but shopping is hell. On top of all that the guys are really active and want to be outside and run around so a lot of their toys are meant for outside and yeah... cold and wet doesn't mix well with wanting to be outside. For instance we really want to get them tricycles but there really isn't any point for the next few months. Sure we don't get a whole lot of rain here but sure enough it has been raining a ton so far this year. And it gets dark so early that the only time I can take them both out on trikes would be the weekend or the one day a week my mom comes to help. SO LAME! Poor guys it makes it tempting to buy one of those tandem trikes. O well they are happy going crazy at the local playground on sunny days and wearing themselves out at bouncy-land on rainy days.

I have been having a hard time getting inspired to cook dinner. It is a combination of the boys constantly wining at the gate the whole time I'm in the kitchen and the fact that the kintchen is so ridiculously small and I have so much crap crammed in there. I guess I really need to pull everything out and lay it all out where I can see it and get rid of half of it. A pot rack would also help but the only place there is room for one is over the sink but that is where the light is... there is a lighted pot rack that i could buy but it hangs so low the pots would practically be in the sink. =( The other part that makes it hard to cook is that Matt is basically refusing anything with veggies (or flavor really) I think it is mainly a texture thing but who really wants to blend the hell out of everything till it is all just a nasty colored paste. esides, Will likes the variety so is he supposed to suffer because Matt has no tolerance? I guess it's time to go back to the cooking for toddlers cook book and not try to make them eat what we eat. SIGH

Looks like this blog is just turning into a place for me to complain huh? Sorry to anyone who reads it =) Maybe one of these days I'll figure out a way to post easily from my phone then it will stop sucking so badly. I just don't know how all those blogs I follow manage to be interesting and not sound whiny.

Well I have to go check on the veg lasagna from wholefoods that I'm reheating in the oven because we don't have a microwave (yep had to bitch a little more about the kitchen =))

See you in another 6 months or so...

Monday, June 14, 2010

One and a half

The boys are getting very active and talkative and even more adorable.

*WARNING* RANT AHEAD!

The questions from random strangers are not going away.
People tell me they are identical. Yeah, I know... tey are my kids and we had them tested and yes I can tell them apart.
They ask if the are natural. Um... yeah but how is that your business anyways?
They ask if they run in my family. Yeah, they do but these guys are identical which can happen to anyone so not only do I have an increased chance of having more identicals (not a genetic thing but more likely to happen after already having a set) but there is also a chance I will have fraternal twins.
Their reaction when I say that we want more kids. They always say something about how we must be trying for a girl or how maybe we will have twins again. #1 sure a girl would be nice but whatever, we always said we wanted to have 2-4 kids so it just makes sense to keep going for us. #2 yeah, maybe we will have twins again, maybe we will have triplets who knows.
The stories I have to hear about from them about this article they read, a show they saw, a story they heard, some one they know that knows some one with twins... etc,

The only time I think that people interrupting and intruding into my day is acceptable is if they are a twin or have twins and on top of that they respect my privacy and keep it a short conversation because my kids don't have a long attention span at 1.5 years to stay in one place and listen to some stranger ramble on about some shit I don't even care about.

Oh and don't even Fing think about touching my kids! Yes, they are cute. No, that doesn't give you any right to touch them!

Ok, rant over, sorry to anyone who stumbled upon that.


Anyways... breathing deeply and getting back to life with the boys...

J and I took the boys to the Y saturday to go swimming for the first time this year. M did really well like we anticipated since he has been so into his baths recently. W took about 5 min to get comfortable. It ended up going so well that we were probably in the pool for a hour. They loved that the pool was shallow enough that they could stand and climb up and down the stairs and they loved the deck top pool gutters. They would lay by the side of the pool and let the little waves hit them and play with the leaves on the grate. They also loved getting in and out of the pool just by pulling up on the side. By the end J even had M doing a little jump off the side into his arms. J would count to three and then help him jump and after a few times of doing that M would bob up and down with his counting and even grunt with the 1 and 2 then lunge at J on 3. W just wanted me to keep my hands on him and make him jump with the 1,2,3. The best part of the day? Not a single hint of a sun burn, yay! my boys got my skin and not J's pale Irish burn in seconds flat no matter how much spf 50 you slather on type. So now that we know the boys aren't terrified of the pool I think the next step is to find a class that fits either J or my mom's schedule.

Oh, and we also are seriously looking at houses and are going to be making our 7th attempt to by a house tomorrow. Yeah, that's right, we have been outbid on 6 houses! and it isn't like we are undercutting the asking price or anything. We have been offering at least 15k over asking price on all of these places! It is just crazy competitive in the areas we are interested in. O well, one of these days we will get a house. Hopefully it is before the boys go away to college.