Friday, June 20, 2008

12 Week update

Monday marked 12 weeks (based on my calendar not my OB's). It was also the day of the ultrasound that would measure the back of the babies' necks to see if they had any physical signs of down syndrome.

The ultrasound was done at a different facility than where I usually go and the ultrasound tech was kinda harsh. Baby A (on my left side) wasn't very active and facing away a lot of the time so the tech kept jabbing my stomach to get the baby to rotate, it was very uncomfortable. Both of the babies were active and looked surprisingly like babies. Baby B (on my right side) looked like it had a big nose but it wasn't until two days later when I watched the DVD with my parents that we realized that we were looking at baby b's fist in front of it's face not it's nose. Then my mom pointed out that it looked like baby B was sucking on it's thumb, SO CUTE!

Yesterday was my second prenatal appointment. I decided to not ask the long list of questions that I had written down because most of them had more to do with the end of the pregnancy and about delivery so I didn't want to sound like a crazy bitch when i have about four more months before I should even worry about any of that. The ultrasound yesterday on the little portable machine was really crappy quality so nothing all that exciting was seen or discussed other than the fact that they both looked like they have nice strong heartbeats. I got a nice and uncomfortable pap and that was the end of the visit.

I signed up for a prenatal nutrition course that is on July 2nd and then there is the big ultrasound to look forward to on July 17th! So far it sound like my mom and Chester will be joining us for that. I hope it goes well since I will only be a little over 16 weeks at that point and most people talk about getting it done at 20 weeks. I hope they know what they are doing scheduling it so early.

Man I hope I stop feeling like crap and get my energy back soon. At least I have another month before I have to worry about getting the house ready for Chester's arrival.

Thursday, June 5, 2008

Morning sickness misunderstood

Let me start out by saying that I always knew that morning sickness does not just happen in the morning. And I had heard the horror stories of women who puked through their entire pregnancy. Somehow I got it in my mind that since I had made it to week 10 with no morning sickness and with only two weeks left in the first trimester that I was probably out of the danger zone. WRONG! the last few days have been close calls of me dry heaving and getting damn near puking but I had been able to fend off the actual puking until this morning. You can imagine my disappointment, I was thinking I was this great baby making machine that can handle two babies and only have the side effects of hunger and exhaustion. Oh well I guess that's what I get for being all proud of my lack of puking, and here's to hoping it doesn't continue for the next 6.5 months.

I know I promised a post about my prenatal class so here it is:

Just like I expected, it was a lot of paperwork with a little information tossed in. I decided to go for the first trimester genetic abnormalities screening which led to me giving seven vials of blood following the class. The class also gave a few handouts to read over mostly just basic stuff that I already knew. The few things that I got out of this class that I found interesting is that my Dr. is going by the babies' measurements not by cycle and my calculated ovulation date so she had me at 11 weeks instead of 10 and has my due date as December 24th instead of the 29th. Of course I am prepared for these numbers to change throughout the pregnancy as we get more detailed ultrasounds so ~shrug~ whatever.

Once I got home I pulled out all the extra reading they gave us and looked over it. i was really surprised to see that in the back of one of the booklets there is a two sided birth plan check list. I was already planning on writing one up and hoping that they might not just glance at it and toss it aside but the fact that they actually give you a birth plan list is very reassuring. To think that they might actually consider reading and following one is so exciting.

Well I need to go hunt for something to eat before I start puking again. The next appointment I have is on June 16th so I'm not sure I'll post again before then.

-L

Thursday, May 29, 2008

9w3d Update

I'm starting to feel a little more normal. I am now sleeping a bit more (8 - 6). I also get up to pee more often in the middle of the night but I only have to eat once a night around 2:30. My crazy sense of smell seems to have calmed down a bit, either that or they are doing a better job of cleaning the bathroom here at work. I get nauseous less often but when i do it is more severe. I've been able to eat more at each meal so that is good. According to my scale at home I still haven't gained any weight, kinda weird. I've basically told the majority of my co-workers so of course now I'm starting to get paranoid that the reason my symptoms are getting weaker is because something is wrong with the babies.

Anyways, the babies are now the size of grapes according to BabyCenter, that is kinda cute. The twins new nicknames are Scooter and Skeeter (from muppet babies).

We were in Austin last weekend visiting my sister and brother-in-law. We had a good time although it was really hot and humid. We even drove down to San Antonio to visit J's step-brother and his family. They have a 11 month old boy and it was really cool to see J interact with him. It just reinforced my confidence of J being a great father, I can hardly wait!

I'll try to post again next week after my first prenatal class.

Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Starting from the begging

So let me catch this blog up to speed.

My husband (lets call him J) and I met in high school back in 1997 and have been together ever since then and got married July 2, 2005. We always planed to have kids but decided to start "trying" in March 2008. So when April 19 rolled around and I got a very positive pregnancy test I was a bit surprised that it happened so quickly.

My doctor's office didn't want to have me come in until May 28th but when I started having issues with my breathing around May 6th I started to worry that the pregnancy somehow had triggered my reactive asthma. So on May 14th I decided enough was enough and I couldn't wait another two weeks to find out why I was out of breath after going up half a flight of stairs.

On May 14th at approximately 4:30 J and I got to see two little sacs with two little blobs with two little flickering heartbeats.

There are a few questions that I always get asked are:
Do twins run in your family? Yes
Were you using fertility drugs? No
Are the identical or fraternal? Don't know, most likely fraternal
Are you excited? Well... yeah duhh
When are you due? I'm not sure. My due date if it was just one baby would have been December 29th but twins are considered full term at 38 weeks so December 15th? I was so excited I forgot to ask.

So here I am at 8 weeks, 2 days and I am basically constantly tired and hungry and have to pee a lot. I'm starting to show and about to give up on trying to hide it from my coworkers. I sleep from 9pm to 6am and wake up twice a night due to hunger and many more to go pee. This is my first pregnancy so I'm not sure if I'm a wimp or if having two little ones growing in there is making my symptoms more extreme. Luckily I still haven't puked although I do get very nauseous when hungry.

So my next appointment is on June 3rd and it isn't really an appointment, it is a prenatal class where they will go over my family history and suggest what tests we might be interested in doing. After that I get to schedule my next real prenatal appointment. I need to start making a list of questions to ask since I totally was blown away and blanked last time.

Ok, it is nearing my bed time so that is all for now.